Antiracism Committee

Committee Chair
Hannah Larsen, MPS Councilor

Visit: MPS Resource Guide for Anti-Racism Action

History & Mission:
The MPS Antiracism Committee was established in 2020 and has continued with a mission to inspire and facilitate individual, organizational, and systemic action to dismantle racist structures and adjacent forms of oppression while promoting equity and socioeconomic justice within psychiatry and our communities.
The Antiracism Committee aims to collaborate and coordinate with other committees with shared goals in order to enrich our perspectives and broaden our impact as an organization, and we welcome attendance from other committee leadership at our meetings to discuss collaborative efforts. 

2022 Update:
The Antiracism Committee meets virtually on the 1st Thursday of every month. Recent/ongoing activities include planning for a full-day conference entitled “Envisioning an Equitable Mental Health Crisis Response”; supporting legislative efforts to decriminalize addiction; encouraging antiracist structural changes within our organizations; and educating one another about incorporating antiracist practices into our clinical care. In 2021, we partnered with house lawmakers to draft Bill H.2082 (, and we are hopeful that this bill will be incorporated into larger pieces of mental health legislation in the coming months. Our inaugural conference series, which offers risk management CME, can be accessed on the MPS website.