Fellowship Committee

Chair: John Bradley, MD, DFAPA

Distinguished Fellowship (DFAPA) is awarded to outstanding psychiatrists who have made significant contributions to the psychiatric profession in at least five of the following areas. Excellence, not mere competence, is the hallmark of an APA Distinguished Fellow. Each year, the district branches of the APA nominate members for this prestigious honor.

Distinguished Fellowship Requirements

To be nominated for DFAPA, members must demonstrate:

  • No less than eight (8) total years of APA membership
  • Initial certification by the ABPN, AOA, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or an equivalent certification board has been held at any time
  • Three letters of support from current Distinguished Fellows or Distinguished Life Fellows
  • A completed nomination form which demonstrates the nominees' excellence in at least five of the following areas:

  • Initial certification by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, the American Osteopathic Association or equivalent certifying board has been held at any time.
  • Involvement in district branch, chapter, and state association activities.
  • Involvement in other components and activities of APA.
  • Involvement in other medical and professional organizations.
  • Participation in non-compensated mental health and medical activities of social significance.
  • Participation in non-medical, non-income-producing community activities.
  • Clinical contributions.
  • Administrative contributions.
  • Teaching contributions.
  • Scientific and scholarly publications.